A Hat (or Two) For Valentines

Heart Shaped Hats by Topsy Turvy (modeled by me) and Burdekins (modeled by Kelly Marie)

So it goes without saying that I love a good hat. I also have a love for ‘special occasion’ hats. I have Easter bonnets, Christmas fascinators, and of course Valentines ones. Most of my hats are vintage, but for Valentines ones I find Esty has the best to offer. Here are my two favourites:

Last year I bought myself a hat from Topsy Turvy Design (thats me wearing it on Valentines day last year above). Topsy Turvey is a labour of love for milliner Kim Brown-Dye, who is based in America but happily ships to the UK. There are so many amazing hats on this site I really must get around to buying another one soon! She no longer makes the heart shaped hat I own however there are lots of fun heat shaped versions including leopard prints and my personal favourite The Sweetheart, which reminds me of a perfect vintage Valentine card. She also does a doily and chocolates fascinator called Sweets for My Sweet Valentine, its lovely too but for chocolate hats no one does it better than Burdekins.

Burdekins is new to Esty, but Kelly Marie (the lovely lady behind the label) has been making fantastic hats and pins for years now. Kelly Marie creates each individual ‘chocolate’ by hand and they are made from recycled Satins and Nylon taken from vintage garments and lingerie. Vintage feel and environmentally conscious. Does it get any better!? Last year I was lucky enough to receive one of her yummy chocolate pins for my birthday straight from the lady herself.

My Burdekin Chocolate Pin. Completely hand-made and so delectable!

Hopefully these pins will be added to her Esty soon too. In the meantime be sure to snap up one of her amazing and delicate fascinators in time for Valentines!

2 thoughts on “A Hat (or Two) For Valentines

Leave a Reply

