The high waisted love affair

kate-trousers1 ella-trousers1

The clever Kate and I wear our high waisted finest.

I have always had an uneasy relationship with trousers, this is mainly because I have always found it near impossible to find a pair I love that look great on me. Until recently that is. I found a pair of jeans from Topshop a few weeks back which are a dream (I’m sure I’ll write about them soon) and now these lovely seersucker trousers.  Seersucker is a stripped  summer fabric. The name comes from a Persian word meaning ‘milk and sugar’ because the stripes alternate smooth and rough like the texture of milk and sugar. I also love Kate’s  vintage work wear take on the high waisted trouser. Its functional and super cute. I also love that we both rolled our trousers up, a nice touch for the summer plus it gives you the opportunity to play with socks!

land-girls-group

Kate’s look reminds me of the land girls,which was how woman of the ‘Woman’s Land Army’ were commonly referred. The WLA was a British civilian organization used in the first and second world wars to place woman with farms that needed workers to replace men called up to the military.

Think next time I wear my seersucker trousers I’m going to try out a crisp white shirt and a rattan summer hat or a side cap, taking a note from the land girls too!

Leave a Reply

